• MeerKAT Image

The SKA-Driven Big Data Challenge in Africa: Science, Innovation and Opportunity


We are pleased to announce the "SKA-Driven Big Data Challenge in Africa: Science, Innovation and Opportunity” Conference, to be held from 28 - 31 May 2018 in the Madagascan coastal town of Nosy Be.


Meeting Rationale:

With MeerKAT expected to be fully operational in 2018, the era of Big Data has officially dawned in Africa. With the SKA project on the horizon, planning and infrastructure development among partner countries across Africa will begin in earnest, effectively bringing Big Data to the African continent. To coincide with the commencement of science observations on MeerKAT, and the milestone this represents in the scientific and technical journey of the SKA on the African continent, it is timely for the African partner community to have a conversation on how best to unlock the tremendous potential of the SKA in the era of big data astronomy in Africa. This conference aims to bring together postgraduate students, researchers, data scientists, technologists, and other stakeholders in the African partner countries to discuss the opportunities and challenges of data-intensive astronomy in the SKA era.  The goals of the meeting are to:

  • Exchange information on big data developments among the African partners
  • Chart the scientific pathway to the SKA in Africa and the African VLBI Network
  • Plan the implementation of the South African Data Intensive Research cloud as an African solution to the data challenge of the SKA and a solution for data intensive research in other science domains.
  • Explore opportunities for collaborative projects in science, data systems, and engineering. 



Register your interest today by clicking here and receive updates about this conference! Registration will open shortly. 

Click on any link below for more information.






Scientific Organising Committee:

  • A/Prof Michelle Cluver (UWC): Chair
  • Prof Russ Taylor, (UCT/UWC) 
  • Dr Ando Ratsimbazafy (NWU)
  • Dr Zara Randriamanakoto (UCT)
  • Dr Kurt van der Heyden, (UCT) 
  • Dr Nadeem Oozeer (SARAO) 
  • Dr Bonita de Swart (SARAO)

Local Organising Committee:

  • Dr Ando Ratsimbazafy (NWU)
  • Dr Zara Randriamanakoto (UCT)
  • Prof. Minoson Rakotomalala (Ministère de l’Enseignement Supérieur et de la Recherche Scientifique)
  • Prof. Rakoto Minoson (Université d'Antananarivo)
  • Ms. Verena Ras (UWC)





Contact Person: 
Verena Ras
Contact Number: 
(021) 959-2519
Email Address: